• Welcome to PS5Forum - The #1 PlayStation Forum. Why not take a minute to register for your own free account now? Registration is completely free and will enable the use of all site features including the ability to join in or create your own discussions.

PS5 buzzing & humming noise finally solved

Hefêydd

Hello,

On the 19th February I would have had a PS5 fir 3 months and in that time the only issue that I've had is a humming a buzzing noise that's quite frankly driven my absolutely ******* crazy yo the point of despair. Sometimes depending how late I'm gaming so I don't disturb the wify because she's up at 5am every morning, she's a nurse, as I work mainly from home now as a Network Engineer I often sleep in the office/games/spare room and the buzzing PS5 has driven my nuts and last night I ejected the CD (which I know I shouldn't have because the PS5 OS is still really buggy and that means it will reinstall the game again and download the patches.

Well I noticed the humming had stopped, the fan was silent it was blissfully quiet. So it turned out the buzzing and vibrating noise was being caused by the media drive. My question is... why the heck is the CD spinning in Rest Mode when it should be turned off. So as a Software Enginer as well I thought this morning is this a firmware bug. Because once you place your console into a state of standby the optical media drive should stop reading the CD. But it continues to spin when it shouldn't be, as soon as I removed the CD the humming and buzzing stopped.

If other PS5 owner's could try this to see if they and replicate would be helpful to try and understand is this a forward bug which I actually think it is because there is no reason for the media drive to continue spinning the CD when the console is in Rest Mode. So after over 2 months it never occurred to me to remove the CD and this was the cause of the humming and buzzing noise because as soon as I removed the CD it stopped.

Hefêydd